COVERED BRIDGE TRAIL

Columbia Montour Covered Bridge Trail

It’s time to explore the Covered Bridges of Columbia & Montour Counties in Northcentral Pennsylvania! Picturesque and historic, they recall a time when life was simpler and closer to the land. On a yearly basis, visitors from all over the world come to admire the antique craftsmanship of the bridges and relax in the quiet countryside. Symbols of small-town America, these covered bridges coax travelers off the beaten path to explore little streams and forgotten dirt roads. We’d like to invite you to embark upon your own journey through the beautiful PA countryside and experience these iconic bridges in person. Come discover these covered treasures!

Photography Credit: Jim Andrews

Click here to see what’s included!

Covered Bridge Trail

  • Mobile exclusive
  • Instantly delivered via text and email
  • No apps to download
  • Discover the Covered Bridges of Columbia and Montour Counties!

Included Bridges

See locations on an interactive map.

Venue Image
Creasyville
Spans Little Fishing Creek between Jackson and Pine Townships, and is located on Creasyville Bridge Road, off Creasyville Hollow Road, north of Millville and Iola. Located near Iram Derr's sawmill, this bridge, built in 1881 by T.S. Christian for a cost of $301.25, was first known as the Derr Bridge.
Venue Image
Davis
Spans the North Branch of Roaring Creek in Cleveland Township. It is located on Shakespeare Road, off Pennsylvania Route 42, south of Catawissa and west of Queen City. The Davis Bridge was built in 1875 by Daniel Kostenbauder at a cost of $1,248.00. In the late 1800’s, a Davis who lived on a...
Show more
Venue Image
Esther Furnace
Spans the North Branch of Roaring Creek in Cleveland Township. It is on Esther Furnace Road, off Eisenhower Road, in proximity of 3003, south of Catawissa Borough. Built in 1881 by C.W. Eves, this bridge cost $1,044.75. It is named after the Esther iron smelting furnace built in 1817.
Venue Image
Fowlersville
Located on a branch of Briar Creek, in North Centre Township, having been moved in 1986 to Briar Creek Park, off Evansville and Lake Roads. One of the last covered bridges built in the county, the Fowlersville bridge was built by Charles Krug in 1887, at a cost of $397.00. The Fowler family...
Show more
Venue Image
Hollingshead
Spans Catawissa Creek in Catawissa Township. It is on Old Reading Road, off Mountain Road, east of Catawissa Borough. The Hollingshead bridge was built in 1851 by Peter Ent for a cost of $1,180.00. Henry Hollingshead owned a nearby mill.
Venue Image
Johnson
Spans Mugser Run, a tributary of the South Branch of Roaring Creek in Cleveland Township. It is on Cleveland Road east of Knoebel's Grove Amusement Park. This bridge was constructed in 1882 by Daniel Stine for $799.00. Adam M. Johnson was a farmer in the area and also conducted a boot and shoe store near the site.
Venue Image
Josiah Hess
Located on Huntington Creek, in Fishing Creek Township, is between Forks and Jonestown off Winding Road. The bridge was constructed in 1875, by Joseph Redline at a cost of $1,349.50. The Hess family owned a sawmill and farm nearby. Now owned by the Columbia County Covered Bridge Association, it has...
Show more
Venue Image
Jud Christian
Spans Little Fishing Creek between Jackson and Pine Townships, located on Ardens Hill Road, off of Sereno Hollow Road, north of Millville and Iola. Built in 1876 by William L. Manning for $239.00, the bridge was named after a nearby farmer and lumberman. The Jud Christian bridge is in near-perfect...
Show more
Venue Image
Knoebel's Grove Bridge
Spans the south branch of Roaring Creek connecting Franklin Township, Columbia County with Ralpho Township, Northumberland County. It is situated in Knoebel's Grove Amusement Park and is located 100 feet downstream from the birthplace of the resort and the original Knoebel's Bridge. Turn of the...
Show more
Venue Image
Kramer
Located on Mud Run, a tributary of Green and Fishing Creeks, is southwest of Rohrsburg on Turkey Path Road, off Utt Road. C.W. Eves built the Kramer bridge in 1881 for $414.50. It was named after Alexander Kramer, a local farmer, who also bid on its construction.
Venue Image
Krickbaum
Spans the South Branch of Roaring Creek between Cleveland Township, Columbia County, and Ralpho Township, Northumberland County. It is located on All Saints Cemetery Road (also known as Airport Road), east of Happy Valley Road. George W. Reefer built this bridge in 1876 for a cost of $732.00....
Show more
Venue Image
Lawrence L. Knoebel
Located in Knoebel's Grove Amusement Resort and spans the South Branch of Roaring Creek, connecting Cleveland Township, Columbia County, with Ralpho Township, Northumberland County. The park is located at the County line, off Pennsylvania Route 487 between Catawissa and Elysburg. This bridge was...
Show more
Venue Image
Old Keefer's Mill
78 foot long Burr Truss bridge built by William Butler at the cost of $498.00 in 1853. It is located on Route 346 (Keefer Mill Road) off of Mexico Road, southwest of Washingtonville in Liberty Township, Montour County, Pennsylvania. It has a square opening, which is unusual for covered bridges in...
Show more
Venue Image
Parr's Mill
Connecting Franklin and Cleveland Townships, Paar’s Mill Bridge spans the North Branch of Roaring Creek. It is on Parr's Mill Road, off Ashton Hollow Road and east of Pennsylvania Route 487, south of Catawissa. F.L. Shuman constructed this bridge in 1866 for $1,275.00. In 1875, Washington Parr...
Show more
Venue Image
Patterson
Spans Green Creek, which flows into Fishing Creek in Orange Township, is located on Hartman Hollow Road Orangeville and Rohrsburg, near Rohrsburg Road. This bridge, constructed by Frank Derr in 1875, cost $804.00. It was named after Patterson's sawmill, which was located nearby.
Venue Image
Richard's
spanning the South Branch of Roaring Creek, this bridge connects Cleveland Township, Columbia County, with Ralpho Township, Northumberland County. It is located on Campground Road, south of Knoebel's Grove. The Richards bridge was built in 1880 by Columbia and Northumberland Counties at a cost of...
Show more
Venue Image
Rupert
Located between the Town of Bloomsburg and Montour Township. Spanning Fishing Creek, it is on Reading Street, off Fort McClure Boulevard, and left of Pennsylvania Route 42 (Rupert Drive), in the village of Rupert. Costing $1,637.00, the Rupert bridge was built in 1847 by Jesse W. Beard. It was...
Show more
Venue Image
Sam Eckman's
Located on Little Fishing Creek between Pine and Greenwood Townships on Covered Bridge Road, off Sereno Hollow Road, north of Millville and Iola. This bridge was built in 1876 for $498.00 by Joseph Redline. Samuel Eckman, after whom it was named, operated a farm, shingle mill and birch oil factory...
Show more
Venue Image
Sam Wagner
Spanning the Chilisquaque Creek in Pottsgrove PA, this is a single-span multiple Kingpost with Burr arch truss 85' bridge built in 1881. The Bridge was built by George Keefer, who built many of the bridges in this area. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979
Venue Image
Shoemaker
Located on West Branch Run (which flows into Little Fishing Creek in Pine Township), is on Shoemaker Bridge Road, near Pennsylvania Route 442, northwest of Iola. Built in 1881 by T.S. Christian and costing $322.00, the bridge was named after Joseph Shoemaker, a nearby farmer and lumberman.
Venue Image
Snyder
Located in Locust Township. Spanning the North Branch of Roaring Creek, the bridge is on Snyder Bridge Road, Quaker Meeting House Road, east of Pennsylvania Route 42, east of Slabtown. The construction date, builder, and cost of this bridge are unknown. It is listed in the County Bridge Book as being near John Snyder's grist mill.
Venue Image
Stillwater
Located on Fishing Creek in the Borough of Stillwater, after which it was named. It is off of Paperdale Road, east of Pennsylvania Route 487. Costing $1,124, this bridge (now closed to motor traffic) was built in 1849 by James McHenry, whose family was among the first to settle in the Stillwater area.
Venue Image
Twins - East Paden
Located on Huntington Creek in Fishing Creek Township, east of Forks, off Winding Road, east of Pennsylvania Route 487. The Twin Bridges, constructed in 1884 by W. C. Pennington for $720, are named after John Paden, who operated a nearby sawmill. Twin Bridges County Park was created in 1963 when a...
Show more
Venue Image
Twins - West Paden
Located on Huntington Creek in Fishing Creek Township, east of Forks, off Winding Road, east of Pennsylvania Route 487. The Twin Bridges, constructed in 1884 by W. C. Pennington for $720, are named after John Paden, who operated a nearby sawmill. Twin Bridges County Park was created in 1963 when a...
Show more
Venue Image
Wanich
Located on Little Fishing Creek between Hemlock and Mount Pleasant Townships. North of Fernville and Bloomsburg, it is on Township Route 493, off Pennsylvania Route 42. George Russell built the Wanich bridge in 1844 at a cost of $500.00. John Wanich was a farmer who resided nearby. The Wanich...
Show more